PDA

View Full Version : Woohoo!



Dot50Cal
08-05-2005, 08:12 PM
Just ordered a new hard drive from newegg (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=22-144-363&depa=1) so I can begin recording again as soon as I get it :) Im planning on getting a few more of these later as well to archive everything heh.

So anyway how much GB of space do you have (not free space, total) in your system?

Right now I got a 160GB and an 80GB which is dying.

BioHazardBlade
08-06-2005, 05:31 PM
you had to ask. A 20gig for my OS and documents folder, a 40gig for programs, a 40gig for porn, a 60gig USB drive, and a Raid 5 array of 3 40 gigs for applications like uh... high speed stuff. My server has a 20gig OS drive and a 80gig internal file server (mp3's and shit)
I've also got a 40gig I'm not using right now, as well as a 20gig laptop drive and an old 4gig Quantum Fireball.

So to simply answer your question, I have 220gigs inside my computer, and 444gigs at my disposal.

Dot50Cal
08-06-2005, 10:03 PM
wow..INSANITY!111

How are those extrernal USB ones anyway?

BioHazardBlade
08-07-2005, 12:27 PM
I think Jesus invented them because they are a gift from GOD dude. They run a little slow (mine's a 5400RPM laptop hard drive in an enclosure) but they're small enough to fit in your pocket and I guess fast enough to actually run a program off of (if you use USB 2.0 of course) but it's basically one of those cute little flash drives you put on your keychain.... on STEROIDS. I got 25 gigs of MP3's in my POCKET baby! Suck on that, iPod.

Dot50Cal
08-08-2005, 07:28 AM
Heh :) I thought you meant one of those 300 gig maxtor external ones. They are actually pretty big (little less than a cdrom). Anyway I got the rest of my money finally and went to order a second one but they were outta stock :| But I did some checking and apparently it has a clone of it, just ROHS compliant (Hazardous material shit, so its good for the enviroment). So I went ahead and ordered that one too :) So I got 600 gigs coming my way woo!!1..well 558.75 ..stupid marketing. Its this one here http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16822144186

Cant wait to have a freakin Terabyte! :) I wont raid em though, I wanna at least have one of them be the backup of the backup unless one fails :D

BioHazardBlade
08-09-2005, 01:15 AM
w00t.
You'll have so much more space in your computer you could turn that shit into an efficiency apartment :D

Dot50Cal
08-16-2005, 07:57 PM
Boy was this the suck. The first one that came was DOA, Second was fine (im on it now). So I Issued a refund and while I was waiting ordered another one....Just got it today and DEAD. Jesus christ. Why is it so hard for them to ship a freaking hard drive!?

The first one that was DOA was making this odd clicking sound (aka the HD: IM DEAD sound) and wouldnt format. This one though..wow....It vibrates horribly and isnt even recoignized by windows (when its inside it takes 6 min to boot -- bad). I checked to see if maybe mounting it upsidown would help...But the fucking thing almost flew outta my hand lol. It was worse than a magnet. Before anyone says its a no no to move a HD while its on...Fuck you pal! It was already dead!

BioHazardBlade
08-17-2005, 08:27 AM
yep, that 's about a 6.5 on the WTF? scale. I still haven't gotten my server back up and running, it's either a defective processor or a defective motherboard, because it will completely lock up after about 10-15 mins of idle time. I've checked all the power settings, turned them all off, replaced the memory, device cables, booted in safe mode, done system restore, hmm... come to think of it I guess it could be a dying hard drive, but I'm not really led to believe that since there is no abnormal vibration off the drive, no classic "I'm dying" sound, and it's a Western Motherfucking Digital and thoes things last for damn ever.

Dot50Cal
08-25-2005, 01:02 AM
Heh it looks like the replacment hard drive is on its way (http://secure.newegg.com/newversion/MyAccount/TrackOrder.asp?TrackingNumber=702631196853)! Cant wait! Ive only got a couple gigs left with this 300 one in alone ;)

BioHazardBlade
08-25-2005, 09:27 AM
rawr. I'm building a media station for our band so we can record direct digital all these damn songs we keep forgetting and I can mix it down in Adobe Audition 1.5. I just ordered a BioStar motherboard and an AMD Sempron 2200+ (yuck, Sempron... but it was half the price and I'm not gonna use it for anything for sound editing) so I'm well into finishing my media station when that gets here.