PDA

View Full Version : Just bought a PS3



Scream
06-28-2007, 12:09 PM
I got it with Ninja Gaiden Sigma (Asian version with English language) and a HDMI cable for $600USD. It's looking good on 1080p. I decided an Asian PS3 was the way to go. Especially after I read about how Taiwan customs only just stopped confiscating Wii's due to the wifi capabilities I doubt they had even seen a US PS3 past through lol. I'll wait till the price drops before I get the US one.

I just updated to firmware 1.82. Took awhile for some reason. I'll check out all the PlayStation stores soon, I see Biohazard Director's Cut is on there along with some other cool games - I actually like Syphon Filter lol.. Though the PS3 wireless is a bit weird. Whenever I go online it's disconnecting my other wifi connections. Maybe it's something to do with the QoS engine of my DIR-655 or the PS3 network settings..

The next few days I'll get Elder Scrolls, Resistance and Silent Hill BD.

Actually I don't really know why I posted this lol, I guess I am just excited as my money mostly goes on my wife and kid lol. Something for ol' Scream today... :D

Dot50Cal
06-28-2007, 03:32 PM
Turn on full RGB! Its in the video settings. If your set supports it, it will make the colors a lot better!

Scream
06-28-2007, 04:49 PM
Haha thanks. I saw that option but didn't know what it was, thought it was something to do with a scart lol.

My Bio Hazard Director's Cut download is 81% complete. It cost $4.50USD, not bad. I'll get Tekken Dark Resurrection and Gran Turismo HD later (though I hear GT HD isn't very good). Just been messing around with the media server which is okay I guess. I played Ninja Gaiden also which is quite fun. Has anyone checked for differences in any of the PSX games on the service?

Scream
06-28-2007, 06:03 PM
I just played a little bit of Bio DC. Here's some info for people who haven't played it (though im sure someone else has done it before)..

The graphics aren't too bad even when you run it full screen. It's sort of like playing the PC/Saturn version mixed together (the backgrounds and 3D models aren't very clear) but its very playable. You can also "feel" it's a bit different, Wesker's flailing arms aren't really in-sync with the voices at the beginning (or am I just imagining things and it's always been like that). The differences, well Bio DC isn't exactly the version I choose to play when I want to play RE1 original so I can't be 100% sure on the differences. I wondered about a few things though.

There are some good points, you can access the Japanese printed user manual in the PS3 XMB while playing the game which is pretty cool I guess. Also it's nice having infinite save slots and the ability to quit to the PS3 menu, but I suppose you would get that with the ordinary PS1 CD version on PS3.

James
06-29-2007, 01:07 PM
I've yet to try a PSOne game on my PS3, but from what I can tell it is pretty nice. I wanna know if upscaling to 1080p has any real negative effects =P

Dot50Cal
06-29-2007, 02:57 PM
No, I dont think it does. But the filtering should be done on a case by case basis. If you have a good television the upscaling wont show a difference (something Ill test with direct captures when my new capture card arrives).

Umon Daisuke
06-29-2007, 06:30 PM
With 1.8 firmware there was, but I have yet to try it again with the latter versions. Basically, ANY upscaling causes MPEG file audio to skip for most titles and very few to skip frames and in-game audio.

James
07-01-2007, 04:53 AM
Is there any way to put a PSX ISO that has been converted using PopStation (into the EBOOT.PBP format) onto a PS3 from a PSP and play it there? =D

Scream
07-01-2007, 11:57 PM
Nope, not that I know of. I believe the only exploit right now is a swap method to play PS1/PS2 backup CDs. It shouldn't be too long before the PS3 HDD is more usable in that way though.

I picked up Resistance and another wireless controller last Friday, but I've only been able to play it for like 15 minutes or so. I see that PS3 is outselling the Wii and Xbox 360 in Australia, it's about time that happened somewhere. The PS3 is a great system, I haven't been involved in "console wars" since I was younger but to me the Wii is just crappy in comparison... A crappy fad... Too bad I'll have to buy one for Umbrella Chronicles.

James
07-02-2007, 03:49 AM
The PS3 isn't outselling the Wii or 360. It's a very clever spin that Sony put on that news story, which unfortunately many people are thinking is the norm.

Considering at the 4 month mark, both the 360 and the Wii sold much more than the PS3 did at the 4 month mark that just passed, it isn't outselling.

But heck, I've got all 3 so I'm not complaining =P

Scream
07-02-2007, 04:24 AM
I still retain my opinion that the Wii is a n00b console haha. There are a lot of n00bs in this world to buy one. As long as you buy it for UC your alright though..

James
07-02-2007, 11:48 AM
I bought it merely so I could own all three.... >_>

Umon Daisuke
07-02-2007, 12:32 PM
I made that mistake last generation and I only own 4 Xbox games, two of which are NG and NG Black.

I got a Wii recently, and I'm only getting a 360 again when NG2 comes out. To have two systems crap out on me so soon is a bit much to swallow; I didn't lose any money but I'll wait for them to add that GPU heat sink to all units.

EDIT: Scream, apparently the craptacular CE of Sigma has a code that unlocks 5 mission modes. Someone posted it already, and it actually works on the JPN and Asian versions:

At the mission select screen enter Up, Down, Left, Down, Right, Up, Square.

Boss fights, two of which are Rachel's facing Niccae and Ishtaros and another facing Doku with some samurai.

Scream
07-02-2007, 05:04 PM
Thanks for the code I never knew about that, I'll check it out. I'm planning to get the 360 Elite when they make it available here (whenever that is).

The Resistance online update is taking forever. My PS3 system information says my NAT type is 2 but UPNP is not enabled, even though it's enabled on my router. I guess that's causing the problem (or maybe it's the server location)... It's already reset twice, the last time at 80% (each time taking nearly an hour), it doesn't even have a resume function. Totally radical d00d!

Krispy
07-02-2007, 09:42 PM
Early adopter eh? If I may ask, what persuaded you to buy a PS3?

Scream
07-02-2007, 10:05 PM
It was the only console that would output 1080p and since my new TV was 1080p it made a lot of sense. The Xbox 360 Elite does too but I prefer Bluray to HD DVD. So you could say it had nothing to do with games, I think Xbox 360 has the better games right now, until next year.

Krispy
07-03-2007, 06:32 AM
I figured the Bluray was the selling point. Nothing wrong with that, not everyone is cheap enough to play HD DVD's and Blurays off their computer onto their HDTV like me. ;)

Scream
07-06-2007, 12:20 AM
Elder Scrolls 4 and Silent Hill Bluray are waiting for me at home. Now that I have Resistance, Ninja Gaiden and Oblivion (the 3 best games perhaps?) I'm not too sure what the next game should be. Maybe Rainbow Six Vegas? The Darkness? I don't think anything good is coming out this month for the PS3..

Borman
07-06-2007, 01:48 PM
Normal 360 outputs 1080p over VGA btw ;) Pick up the Darkness, Ive been enjoying that over the past few days. Add me on the PSN if you can, Borman :)

Scream
07-06-2007, 02:10 PM
My PSN is: ScreamWU

No-one on my list at the moment so I'll add you soon. I'll probably get The Darkness and R6 soon. I just got FFX International and tried it on my PS3 and it runs quite well, so going to get a few old PS2 games too, like RE4, SH3, Outbreak etc..

Borman
07-06-2007, 02:28 PM
Ive got Resistance, MLB 2k7, and the Darkness, plus a handful of PSN games so :)

Scream
07-06-2007, 02:35 PM
I'll try my Resistance update again. Last time I checked it was still ****ed up. I think that UPNP thing is really screwing up my downloads, takes ages to download a 150mb trailer. :/

Arlumit
07-16-2007, 10:30 AM
PS3 can NOT play back PS1 or PS2 discs, it is being created for watching Blu-Ray movies.

Japanese PS3 can't play japanese PS1 and PS2 games.

Umon Daisuke
07-16-2007, 12:19 PM
PS3 can NOT play back PS1 or PS2 discs, it is being created for watching Blu-Ray movies.

Japanese PS3 can't play japanese PS1 and PS2 games.

Uh, yes it most certainly can. You're certainly not going to argue with people who actually have the console and played those old games on it, are you? :uhh:

Even the partial software emulated PAL consoles play almost all of the games without a hitch. Well, exception goes to upscaled PS1 games where the audio in the CG's skips.

SinValentine
07-16-2007, 01:41 PM
my eyes glanced and misread this and thought the topic title was "just broke a ps3" lol now that would be somethin :o

News Bot
07-16-2007, 02:14 PM
I'm totally persuaded to get a PS3 by Christmas time now. XD

Only thing is, which one do I get? Asian..American, PAL? Argh ;_;

SinValentine
07-16-2007, 02:21 PM
where do you live? you're name's ciaren i'm guessing you're irish :lol: my buddy's name is ciaran too

News Bot
07-16-2007, 02:30 PM
Spot on with the Irish part, although Ciaren isn't my real name, it's just one I quite like, XD

Although the predicament i'm in concerning the PS3 is the huge muck-up Sony is making concerning PAL systems. The PS3, full price, two games, two controllers. The thing is, the controllers are going to be fully obsolete in just a few months. Which sort of makes owning them...pointless.

Asian systems etc I would prefer because i'd be able to get them ridiculously cheap-ish (£300 and so on). And because the PS3 is only region locked with PS1/PS2 games and BluRay movies. None of which I will be taking seriously with regards to the PS3.

Care to chip in some help here guys? =P

Umon Daisuke
07-16-2007, 10:38 PM
Go with the PAL console to play it safe. Sure, PS3's are reliable and the rare malfunctions have been related to firmware installing but there are other benefits aside from warranty. BD movies that is, and you'll probably not going to watch DVD's once you see a true HD source.

Besides, even with the controller issue, the PAL bundle is still a great deal.

My other suggestion is if you can get a 20GB JPN unit, go for it. With the money you save, you can get a much larger 2.5" SATA HDD installed. But if WiFi is a must, stick to my first suggestion.

News Bot
07-16-2007, 11:49 PM
Oh. WiFi. Crap, knew something was going to pop up ;_;

PAL it is then.