PDA

View Full Version : Silent Hill HD Collection...



Neoblast
02-02-2013, 12:57 PM
I just purchased this since I've been wanting to finish these games for years but never got to before. On the way home I saw that it's filled with bugs and glitches.

Is it really that bad?

Can you at least finish them?

My version is the xbox one... should i got back to the mall now that's sealed and ask for a refund?

Carnivol
02-02-2013, 06:15 PM
It's not "that bad." Although some users experienced quite a bit of stutter in the audio (or odd glitchy noises), and the brightness is a bit too bright in places and the fog not as thick as it should be. It's playable, but it could've been soooooo much better.

It kinda feels like playing with an emulator that doesn't quite emulate things perfectly.

Neoblast
02-02-2013, 06:52 PM
It's not "that bad." Although some users experienced quite a bit of stutter in the audio (or odd glitchy noises), and the brightness is a bit too bright in places and the fog not as thick as it should be. It's playable, but it could've been soooooo much better.

It kinda feels like playing with an emulator that doesn't quite emulate things perfectly.


Yeah I decided to give it a go since it's actually the 2 silent hill games I've been looking forward to play. And doing that in my xbox is quite practical...

So far nothing game breaking, some visual glitches occured though...

Carnivol
02-02-2013, 07:42 PM
Use original audio in SH2, though (since you can) ;D

Dracarys
02-03-2013, 04:10 AM
On PS3 edition of SH2 I numerous times had glitches where I'd use a door and on the other side the world would be missing, either James just standing in black if indoors or standing in a world of fog if outdoors. Only thing can do is quit game back to system menu but that would cause a system restart.

C0deM0nkey
02-03-2013, 08:35 AM
I have the xbox 360 version too and while there are quite a few glitches, the games are still fully playable. The only issues I've really had so far is slow down when achievements are unlocked, audio and slowdown issues when using the SMG in SH3 (seemed to be a bit more bearable when the silencer is equipped) and pressing the action button seemed to target the nearest enemy as well as being used to perform actions. I remember when playing SH3 in the section when you go onto the train tracks to try and go through the door and then have to rush back onto the tracks I couldn't get back up and everytime I tried Heather targeted an enemy. I ended up killing all the dogs and the scene went fine I don't actually remember how it worked on the ps2 version?

A_Jill_Sandwich
02-03-2013, 10:05 AM
I really don't see why some people consider it an absolute horrible mess O-o I have the PS3 version, and have no problems aside a tiny little 1-2 second lag (in 3) when running or maybe an occasional out-of-place noise Heather makes when she swings a melee weapon. I haven't ventured far into 2, though. Probably the apartments. Other than that, HD collection is nice. Never has it froze on me; did a one sitting run of an hour and fifty-five minutes and one save. Nothing bad happened. Though I did notice the lip-syncing is a little off.Especially Claudia talking to Heather in the Church.

Gradon
02-03-2013, 05:03 PM
The lip-syncing being off was caused by the new audio. I replaced SH3's audio with the PC version several months ago and it synced up perfectly. It's like they never even tested it... Oh, and the SMG bug is abysmal. Slowdown and an awful noise was sad.

Rombie
02-03-2013, 11:07 PM
Plus both games lock up at random or in specific places... I literally gave up on SH3 because of it. And this was on PS3 post last patch still. But the same happens with the 360 version.

Wrathborne
02-04-2013, 01:24 AM
Konami fail -_-. Silent Hill deserves better.

Neoblast
02-07-2013, 09:27 PM
Well so far I'm loving it.
It's true it has some glitches but nothing game breaking.

I just started the hospital nightamre...

nemesis_lover
02-13-2013, 05:07 PM
I found this to be a very nice collection of games in HD. I just love how bad the lake looks in silent hill 2! :lol:
I wonder if they will make a hd collection of 4 and origins?

drunkdog
02-13-2013, 05:40 PM
I had no problems with SH2 or 3 what so ever.... I guess i got lucky but i did not come across a single glitch that people have described.

Rombie
02-13-2013, 06:54 PM
Either that or you're just oblivious the the visual differences within the HD set compared to the originals. To me even those were seemingly straight forward. Glitches including freezing was just the icing on the shit cake.

Wrathborne
03-02-2013, 09:06 PM
Its almost like Konami has abandoned Silent Hill completely....I'd almost be more in favor of Capcom buying the liscense of the game and doing their own thing with it than with what Konami has done the past decade.

nemesis_lover
03-03-2013, 08:33 AM
Does seem like Silent Hill will follow Dino Crisis into the abyss....
Downpour had soo many push backs, I'm surprised we got a final game!

DONNIemo
06-16-2013, 11:13 PM
i found non of the guns fired the same as the animation. i have it on both consoles, i did SH2 on the 360 and SH3 on the PS3. they were the playable ones to me.

The_Wes
06-17-2013, 04:46 PM
The best choice to play Silent Hill 3 is PC. HD resolution, 0 bugs, all the features, better framerate... If you have gamepad is a much better experience than the consoles.

The best to play Silent Hill 2 is the director's cut version of PS2 (is now on sales about 10 $). All features, 0 bugs and the best graphics. Silent Hill 2 on PC sucks, it's unplayable because the sound bugs...

And about the HD versions, I have the xbox version and is playable till the end. But isn't the best way to enjoy those amazing titles. If you don't have any other options, buy it. The games deserves the money even in this shit port.

DONNIemo
06-17-2013, 11:10 PM
well i have a collection of silent hill on every format, and yes SH3 is amazing on PC but it turns my pc into a slug so i cant run it high :(