View Poll Results: I prefer resolution..

Voters
14. You may not vote on this poll
  • 568x426

    8 57.14%
  • 320x240

    5 35.71%
  • 640X480 (chrism3784 only ;-)

    1 7.14%
Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: RE1 Video Resolution Question

  1. #1
    War Horse Uranium
    Dot50Cal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    New York, USA
    Posts
    7,275

    Default RE1 Video Resolution Question

    Heres a question for you guys, What resolution would your prefer the Resident Evil 1 Cutscenes in? Your options are 320x240, or 568x426. I ask because RE1's naitive resolution is 320x240, but thats really tiny. I have them captured in 568x426, so I can go either way with this. Im just curious what you would prefer. Remember, this will be for videos only. Screenshots will be stored as 568x426, as looking at 320x240 images as a "screenshot" is kinda rediculous.



    Last edited by Dot50Cal; 08-18-2006 at 02:23 AM.

  2. #2
    #03 Larva Sidderz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    33

    Default

    568x426 is better in my opinion. I mean sure the other one could be said as being "better quality" but then the graphics aren't brilliant as it is. So I think the bigger resolution would be bettor. Yes bettor not better.

  3. #3
    THIA Staff

    James's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,291

    Default

    Higher Resolution in RE1's case. =)

  4. #4
    Valde Proditor (Banned) krieg747's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    60

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nemesis556
    Higher Resolution in RE1's case. =)
    but its not higher resolution, its just bigger.

    I honestly think it would be kind of crappy to upload them in an altered form, especially when it makes the videos look more grainy. This is why WMP has a 200% viewing size option. If you want the videos to be bigger, why not just fullscreen them? a fullscreen 320x240 is the exact same quality as a 320x240 stretched to 568x426 at fullscreen.

  5. #5
    War Horse Uranium
    Dot50Cal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    New York, USA
    Posts
    7,275

    Default

    My main reason for the poll is because the 568 affords better clarity of the surroundings. Im still wondering what to do..

  6. #6
    Administrator

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    136

    Default

    What are you recording these from to get that quality. I thought RE1 was rendered as 640X480. the RE1 for PC is.

  7. #7
    War Horse Uranium
    Dot50Cal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    New York, USA
    Posts
    7,275

    Default

    Were doing RE1 for the PSX. RE1 for the PC doesnt work with Windows XP and any high end machine really. Im trying to keep things as "real" as possible. No emulator bullshit with incorrect sound, etc.

  8. #8
    Administrator

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    136

    Default

    Oh ok, makes sense, well, I still vote it should be 640X480. What! its not an option, hmm, I'll put it as an option. I'll take the vote I made before away. But only I can vote 640X480, everyone else, you have to vote either the other two. HEHE.
    Last edited by chrism3784; 08-18-2006 at 03:07 PM. Reason: Being my crazy self

  9. #9
    War Horse Uranium
    Dot50Cal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    New York, USA
    Posts
    7,275

    Default

    640x480 = 568x426 when the black bars are removed

  10. #10
    Administrator

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    136

    Default

    Oh No!!! Looks like I already lost. Thank you everyone for your votes and kicking my @$$.

  11. #11
    War Horse Uranium
    Dot50Cal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    New York, USA
    Posts
    7,275

    Default

    lolololol

  12. #12
    #12 Chimera Pedro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Recife - Pernambuco - Brazil
    Posts
    154

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chrism3784
    Oh No!!! Looks like I already lost. Thank you everyone for your votes and kicking my @$$.
    PWND.
    Btw, there is no difference between 640x480 and the other resolution, so you practically kicked some ass too

  13. #13
    Administrator

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    136

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pedro
    PWND.
    Btw, there is no difference between 640x480 and the other resolution, so you practically kicked some ass too
    What do you mean there is no difference. 640x480 to 568x426

    Ok lets think about it. 640X480 is 72 pixels wider and 54 pixels taller. That means there is 65232 more pixels.

  14. #14
    THIA Staff


    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,280

    Default

    Which means 65232 pixels of black bars, not actual game content ;)

  15. #15
    War Horse Uranium
    Dot50Cal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    New York, USA
    Posts
    7,275

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Borman
    Which means 65232 pixels of black bars, not actual game content ;)
    Winner.

  16. #16
    War Horse Uranium
    Dot50Cal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    New York, USA
    Posts
    7,275

    Default

    I beleive Im going to be going 320x240, Heres a newer shot. You'll notice that I realized my mistake while capturing and the other option really should be 640x480 now...Honestly there would be almost no difference if you were to take the 320x240 video and upscale it to 640x480.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	320.jpg 
Views:	207 
Size:	28.9 KB 
ID:	96   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	640.jpg 
Views:	185 
Size:	85.4 KB 
ID:	97  
    Last edited by Dot50Cal; 08-23-2006 at 11:55 PM.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •